What is PMI’s PMP PDUs (Professional Development Units)?

PMI PMP PDUs, Professional Development UnitsIf you’re a PMP and want to keep this certification for more than three years, then you must go through PMI’s Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) program, because the validity of the PMP certificate is only three years.

This CCR program requires that you must take part in some professional development activities to earn the professional development units (PDUs) to maintain your credential.

As per PMI “The professional development units (PDUs) are the measuring unit used to quantify approved learning and professional service activities.

Please note that these activities for the PDUs must be relevant to project management or the current version of the PMBOK Guide.

One PDU is equal to one hour of activity.

PDU requirements for each PMI credentialed exam are as follows:

PMP                       60 PDUs

PMI-RMP             30 PDUs

PMI-SP                 30 PDUs

PMI-ACP              30 PDUs

PgMP                    60 PDUs

CAPM                    PDUs are not required; re-exam is required to renew the CAPM.


You must keep records for the PDUs that you have claimed to PMI for 18 months after the end of your CCR cycle, because PMI may select you for an audit to prove the authenticity of your PDUs.

Please refer the PMP Handbook for the latest update.

image credit => digitalart / FreeDigitalPhotos.net


  1. Ullah says

    I am planning to take PDU for PMP, and would like to know how long my PDU will be valid for PMP exam(is it 12 months or 18 months?)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *