In December 2015, PMI made significant changes to the CCR cycle, and now you have to report PDUs that comply with the new rules.

The PMI made these changes after viewing market research and taking feedback from various stakeholders to incorporate the multi-directional views from experts belonging to different industries.

The PMI tweaks its CCR cycle to keep its certification holders relevant and updated with the latest technologies to help increase their employability.

I am writing this blog post to explain what has changed after the new rules were enforced.

What Did Not Change

Before December 1st, you were required to earn 60 PDUs every three years, and you are still required to earn 60 PDUs every three years. No change here.

Before December 1st, 2015, the PMI had two PDU categories:

  1. Education
  2. Giving Back to the Profession

No change here.

Also, there has been no change to the sub-categories.

The education category had three sub-categories:

  1. Category A (Courses offered by PMI’s R.E.P.s, chapters, communities, and G.A.C.)
  2. Category B (Continuing Education)
  3. Category C (Self-Directed Learning)

It still has those three sub-categories. No change here.

Likewise, giving back to the profession has the same number of sub-categories:

  1. Category D (Creating Knowledge)
  2. Category E (Volunteering)
  3. Category F (Working as a Professional)

No change here as well.

What Has Changed?

The first significant change is the maximum and minimum number of PDUs to be earned in each category.

Before December 1st, 2015, there was no mandatory minimum requirement in the education category group, although there was an upper ceiling of 30 PDUs in category C. Now, you have to earn 35 PDUs in the education category with a maximum number of 30 PDUs in category C.

There is one caveat here.

Out of these 35 PDUs, 8 PDUs must belong to technical skills, 8to leadership skills, and 8 to business skills. The remaining 11 PDUs can be distributed throughout.

These three skill sets are collectively named the Talent Triangle by the PMI; every organization finds them vital to its success and growth. 

A study by the PMI shows that:

  • 66% of organizations say that technical skills are difficult to find in candidates.
  • 75% of organizations rank leadership skills as essential skills for project success.
  • 72% of organizations have higher project success rates when they align their talent with organizational strategy. Business skills are important.

Therefore, the PMI developed this Talent Triangle concept and incorporated it into the CCR cycle, so you can establish yourself for success. 

Now, we come to giving back to the profession category.

Before the change, you were allowed to earn a maximum of 45 PDUs under this category. Now, you can earn a maximum of 25 PDUs.

In category F, you can claim a maximum of 8 PDUs in three years, while in the past it was 15 PDUs per CCR cycle or 5 PDUs per year.


PMI’s CCR program is focused on your professional development. This is an effort from the PMI to keep PMPs current with the latest advancements and to help them learn new skills. You should be adaptive to the market conditions, and the PMI CCR cycle is.

I believe now you understand the new CCR cycle. Please refer to my blog post on How to Earn PDUs for Free, if you are interested.